The Beardsman’s Kit: The Brush

image

For a first time Beardsman, I can hardly describe the magical moment of running a boar bristle brush through my beard.

 I made it to three months of growth before finding a brush I liked. R.S. Stein makes quality brushes and I managed to find one 50% off on Amazon, done deal. Previously, I discussed combs and why we should avoid molded combs because they will strip away essential oils and damage our hair.

Here are the reasons you should run to get a 100% natural boar bristle brush:

  • Shiny hair, the bristles distribute our natural oils conditioning our hair
  • Cleans hair, removes excess oil, debris and exfoliates skin
  • Softens hair; if not for us, for our partner
  • Less breakage, stronger hair
  • Follicle stimulation; better oil production, less itching, faster growing hair
  • Straightens and adds volume to our beard
  • Reduces frizz and and frequency of washing
  • Oak (sometimes Maple) wood looks quite nice

image

One of the most common questions I get about my beard regarding oils is, “Aren’t oils bad?” Absolutely not. However, too much oil or too little oil can make our beard feel greasy or dry and itchy. The brush naturally takes care of a lot of these challenges.

There are beard cleansers out there, but I personally do not use them. Using shampoo sparingly does the trick for me; once or twice a week. Any more than that and we end up stripping too much oil from our beard making it itchy. I have only had one pimple hidden beneath my beard in the past year and that is with applying daily beard oil.

As they say in Game of Thrones, “Winter is coming.” Now would be a fantastic time to grow your face-shield; especially if you are in Upstate New York.

2 thoughts on “The Beardsman’s Kit: The Brush

  1. Pingback: The Beardsman’s Kit: The Scissors | There Is Another Way To Live

  2. Pingback: The Beardsman’s Kit: Beard Oils | There Is Another Way To Live

Leave a Reply

