The Beard Baron: Fireside, Premium Beard Balm (Review)

image

The Beard Baron (aka John Diehl) has entered the beard balm game! Why the excitement? His YouTube channel gave me a fantastic foundation for becoming a beardsman and several of the first beard products I tried came from his line; I’ve yet to be disappointed. When I found out he came out with beard balm (in all his signature scents) I asked if I could demo one. He said, “yes.”

Why do I need beard balm / Am I ready for beard balm?

What I quickly found out on my adventure to grow a legitimately awesome beard was the damn thing never followed my orders. I had stray hairs sticking out everywhere. If you already have stray hairs or your beard is starting to get a touch unruly, you’re ready. Beard oil is great for making beards shiny and soft with little to no hold and moustache wax was great for hold, but not practical to use on an entire beard. Luckily, balm functions as a hybrid between waxes and oils.

What’s in The Beard Baron’s balm? 

Beeswax, Shea Butter, Jojoba Oil & Grapeseed oil. I love that there is no junk in any of The Beard Baron’s products. Remember, we’re putting this stuff on our faces, the ingredients should be natural. The beeswax provides a medium hold for styling and the jojoba/shea/grapeseed is great for conditioning our hair. The balm is also uncolored so there will be no funky staining of your beard.

How do I apply it?

You need a quality comb, your finger nail and some fingers for friction. It’s initially a hard balm, but once you scrape a bit off and work it between your fingers to warm it up, it goes in rather easily. You will pull the occasional hair or two, but that comes with the territory.

How’s the Fireside smell? 

Pleasing, comforting. It reminds me of the holidays, especially Christmas. It embodies the experience of opening up old boxes of ornaments and decorating the tree as the fireplace crackles softly in the background. The scent blend contains fir, balsam, bergamot, sandalwood, and patchouli. The patchouli initially turned me off to products with this scent, but it is not over powering. It is a well balanced scent, recommended for the Autumn and Winter months.

Another thing I love about this scent in this balm is that it endures throughout the day. Most products I’ve used smell fantastic for about 30 minutes, then fade and I don’t notice them much after. This balm has that initial burst of scent during application, mellows a bit, then surprisingly maintains throughout the day, but is never overbearing or distracting.

Results?

image
Before: Post shower, dried, combed, no balm.
image
After: Looks good enough for my four-month-old to pull on.

All the grey in my beard should give you an idea of why my beard needs a control product. If your hair color is more uniform you’ll look even better. It does a decent job of keeping the mustache in line if you don’t feel like using wax.

The price? 

$20. It’s competitively priced among premium beard balms.  It comes in a 2oz tin; this will last several months, especially if you occasionally alternate days with oils.

The verdict? 

It’s quality. Medium hold. The Fireside scent is pleasing and well balanced, perfect for when the leaves turn and there’s a chill in the air. It’s initially hard out of the packaging and takes a little trial and error to determine just how much you’ll need, but that’s half of the fun.

You can check out this balm along with The Beard Baron’s entire line of products at thebeardbaron.com

Question, comments? Drop me a line in the comment section below. Thanks for reading.

-Finchy

Leave a Reply

