Body-for-LIFE: Week Four

image

It’s hard to imagine I am one third of the way through the 12 week Body-for-Life program. I have been taking stock of the progress I have made and the goals already achieved. With positivity and positive momentum I just want to keep things rolling forward.

Monday of this past week I was doing upper body and it was so intense I felt like my muscles were growing right before my eyes. In my head, I was Popeye eating my spinach and my arms were bulging all over the place. It was a great feeling, and that is what I have always been after. It has never been about the look.

I don’t want to be one of those guys walking around the gym in a tank top flexing and seeing if anyone is admiring my Adonis-like physique. I didn’t even take measurements prior to starting this program, so there won’t be anything to compare the result to. I legitimately just want to feel better, stronger; that’s all.

My back no longer hurts when I am at work. I have a lot more energy and don’t mind getting up at 5am to work out. The best part of it all is that my body tells me when I’m screwing up. Too many beers? Pain! Eat the wrong food? Lethargy! I progress weekly as I fit this program into my busy life. I am absolutely crushing the lower body workouts, but still struggling to advance weight on the upper body exercises like I want.

imageSince the end of this week marked the one month point of The Program I thought I would treat myself, I went for a run, outside, ON A TRAIL! My Brother @AlpineAthlete gets to demo a lot of shoes and running gear. When he gets something that is a little too tight (but just right for me!) I am the beneficiary, which keeps me well stocked when it comes to running footwear.

image
Lake Eastman, Durand-Eastman Park (Rochester, NY)
image
Lost in a forest, all alone.

Rochester, NY has so many beautiful trails. I plan to run them all and start up a page on TIAWTL to photograph and score them for other local runners to check out. Today’s run saw me take on the Lake Eastman trail. I went out early. Under a canopy of forest, I heard all the nature sounds; the birds, fish jumping out of the water, twigs cracking under my feet, leaves blowing in the wind. The smells; cool earth, the green, faint whiffs of tobacco from the golfers, the fish farts (at least that’s what I call them). The sights: the leaves, the lake, no visible golfers, the sun! The morning sun is so beautiful. It’s bright, but it comes in at an angle that kisses your cheek rather than smashing the top of your head.

Choices.
Choices.
Beautiful Choices.
Beautiful Choices.
That's not solid ground...
That’s not solid ground…

Onward,

-Finchy

Body-for-LIFE Saga: < Previous | Next >

2 thoughts on “Body-for-LIFE: Week Four

  1. Pingback: Body-for-LIFE: Week Three | There Is Another Way To Live

  2. Pingback: Body-for-LIFE: Week Five | There Is Another Way To Live

Leave a Reply

