Dude, where have you been? Tyria…

gw002
This is my homie Storm, he bites when I tell him to…

This winter is the perfect storm (see what I did there? ^^^): My son Little Bear in the emergency department, remembering Paris, losing a student nurse to family issues, the election cycle, David Bowie…Jesus it’s been a rough couple of months. It’s completely appropriate to assume I have been hiding.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned, but the dirty little secret behind this blog is literally, “escape.” There’s nothing more than I would like than for anyone reading this to step away from their keyboard, and walk away. Of course, you’ll message me one day and say, “thanks buddy!” Then, you will walk away from your keyboard again.

gw001
GW2 username: Enilwyn.9304

Failing to take my own advice, I have gotten closer with my keyboard. Stormy and I have been journeying around the fantasy world of Tyria in the MMORPG Guild Wars 2 (Darkhaven server). Unlike my time in World of Warcraft, I am a “filthy casual” player this time around. The game is not for Mac users (it crashes all the damn time). I see that as a big positive as it reduces the time I play it.

This sort of behavior from me happens every winter. Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) kicks in as I lose all my energy, my focus gets hazy, and I really can’t be bothered with anything. I go into full on survival mode. I go to work. I take care of the family. I slay the occasional dragon, then I take a nap. Repeat.

One of the thing we have lost touch with as humans is our time with nature and the sun. We synthesize vitamin D through sun exposure. Vitamin D is good for a number of reasons, and when we don’t get enough via diet, the sun helps make up the difference.

However, this time of year I wake up and it’s dark. I work inside for eight to 12 hours and it’s dark when I leave work. Even in the summer, the sunblock I use reduces the amount of exposure I receive. For all these reasons, I will be pricing out phototherapy lights in the next couple of days. Of course I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

Stay awesome!

-Nurse David

 

 

Leave a Reply

