I Get To Wear My Ring

ring-fist
Pow!

Don’t gross me out nurses. I see you walking around with rings and finger nails 1mm or greater. Bacteria love those nooks and crannies. That’s why you haven’t seen my wedding band until now.

All self-righteousness aside, it really is gross. My wedding band is made of tungsten carbide, which is an extremely strong, scratch-resistant, knuckle shredding metal that doesn’t help when my hands are already cracked from frequent washing between patients.  It also has grooves where, “bad guys” (aka bacteria) can hang out.

Now that I’ve had time to focus more on my new gig, I’ve also taken the opportunity to reflect on my time in the hospital. What went right? What went wrong? What could I have done better? What did I learn from my failures? What did I learn from my success?

My reflection didn’t start with those major themes however. It started with all the little concessions I had made to work in the hospital in the first place.

In my car, dangling from the rear view mirror on a necklace I purchased at The Cure’s 2000 Dream Tour concert in Toronto, swayed my wedding band. The first thing I did was to put my band back on. The second thing was to ask myself if leaving the hospital was the right decision. Will I ever be free from a little self doubt?

The wedding band was the first reminder, of all the concessions made along the way. It has become a symbol of how grateful I am of my new opportunity in addition to being married to the love of my life. At one point these little thing were perfectly acceptable, but over time I really missed some creature comforts. Here’s a list in no particular order.

Reasons I am grateful to have a new challenge:

  • I will work on more preventative patient care
  • I will get to see my kids every day now
  • I will get to see all the weekend Liverpool FC matches
  • I will be able to see the sun on a regular basis
  • I will buy myself new shoes (with every new job!)
  • I will get to meet a lot of new people
  • I will get a routine, which will turn into a groove baby
  • I will have a much shorter commute
  • I will be more available to friends & family
  • I get to wear my wedding ring…

Undeniably, there will be things I miss from the hospital. That won’t blunt my excitement for the present and future, whatever it may hold.

-Nurse David

 

2 thoughts on “I Get To Wear My Ring

Leave a Reply

