S.A.D. & the HappyLight

I woke up, it was dark. I drove to work, it was still dark. I worked for 12+ hours…

I drive home, in darkness.

I would often repeat this cycle for three days straight. I wouldn’t see the sun for three days. This was a choice I made to be a hospital nurse.

Writing this makes me feel depressed. I am sick of being depressed this time of year. I generally love the autumn, but hate the dip in my mood, the lack of energy, and the near constant desire to crawl back to bed. Seasonal Affective Disorder (S.A.D.) is what some in the medical community will call it, how cute.

Enter the HappyLight Liberty 10,000 LUX Natural Spectrum Energy Lamp by Verilux.

51FN47VONpL._SX522_.jpg
“Brevity just isn’t our thing because unless the product has at minimum seven descriptors people will never really get what we’re all about, ever, seriously you guys, I mean it for reals.” -fictional Verilux spokesperson.

This autumn I will be working in an office, which means I’ll see the sun a little bit in the morning, but not much in the afternoon. My part of the office does not have any windows (enter S.A.D. face). I have read good things about these lights and know people who swear by them. It is time to see what all the fuss is about.

Review to follow.

-Nurse David

 

 

Leave a Reply

