Mo’7: Fight Fight Fight!!!

Physical health. It’s important. I am finding it physically difficult to transition from my hospital job to the family practice setting. Humans were not meant to sit in chairs all day and my back is paying for it.

With the amount of distractions and excuses we have these days, it is a constant fight to remain active.

My excuses:

  • I’m lazy. I’d say tired, but I don’t have the energy to sugarcoat it.
  • I have two young kids that want my attention.
  • I have a wife that enjoys my company (seriously).
  • I don’t have the time.
  • It’s cold outside.
  • It’s hot outside.
  • Eating healthy takes too much prep and constant shopping.
  • My left knee hurts when I run.
  • I’m out of shape (hahaha, seriously!).

Movember is a time when I take stock of where I am physically and attempt to shoehorn exercise into my life whenever I can. My goal this year is to get sexy again (aka make my pants and shirts fit properly).

Unfortunately most of us, myself included, spend the majority of our time reinforcing bad habits (eating the wrong things, drinking too many beers, sedentary lifestyle, etc) and then expect instant results when we try to get back on a work out program. It doesn’t work that way.

Ultimately, we need to take on these excuses one by one and brush them aside to get where we want to be. We need to make sure we are healthy enough to start exercising so we don’t hurt ourselves. Our primary care physicians can help with that.

It’s important to start small and build from our starting points. It can be as simple as walking to the end of the driveway and back. Then walking from the end of the driveway to the end of the block. Then walking around the entire block.

I’ve started with jumping jacks, planks, push-ups, stretching, and initial thoughts of dusting off the elliptical. I’ve also replaced Coca-Cola with tea. In terms of food choices, I am much more mindful to read labels and minimize the saturated fat and bad cholesterol.

I know that if I keep exercising I will start to sleep better, have more energy when I’m awake, and feel fit again. It’s a constant fight, but it’s worth it. My pants might even fit better. At least that’s what I tell myself!

-Nurse David

Donate to the Nurse David Movember page.

 

 

 

One thought on “Mo’7: Fight Fight Fight!!!

  1. Pingback: Mo’9: Have We Tried Love? – There Is Another Way To Live

Leave a Reply

